Six SEHD Faculty Members Awarded CU Denver Inclusive Excellence Grants

CU Denver’s Office for DEI notified awardees this week regarding the Inclusive Excellence Initiative Grants. Based on the results, it’s clear that the collective work of the School of Education & Human Development (SEHD) team in mission-related campus and school DEI work is a shining example. We are excited to share the names of the six faculty members in SEHD who received a grant! The Inclusive Excellence Initiative Grants support initiatives, events, conferences and professional development that promote diversity, equity, and inclusion throughout CU Denver. They are designed to activate Goal 1 and/or Goal 5 of the 2030 Strategic Plan; becoming the nation’s 1st equity-serving institution and becoming a people-centered best place to work.
Chaya Abrams – Counseling – Trauma Reverberations: Intersected lived experiences of food insecurity, eating disorders, and chronic illness among university students
Antwan Jefferson – SEHD DEI Office – Fostering Inclusive Excellence Leadership in SEHD
Ester de Jong – Culturally and Linguistically Diverse Education – Equitable Learning Spaces for New Arrivals
Amy Ferrell – Special Education – Enacting Community in the SEHD
Jennifer Camacho Taylor and Renée Wilkins-Clark – Human Development and Family Relations – Lunch and Learn Series: Utilizing Racial and Ethnic Socialization Research to Meet the Needs of Black and Latine Students
We invite all SEHD faculty and staff to submit proposals for these grants in the future. For details on the funded initiatives, click here.