We are pleased to announce the recipients of the 2019 TIRF James E. Alatis Prize for Research on Language Planning and Policy in Educational Contexts. Dr. Nelson Flores, Associate Professor at the University of Pennsylvania, and Dr. Sofía Chaparro, Assistant Professor at the University of Colorado Denver, have been named as the winners of TIRF’s 2019 Alatis Prize. Their article is entitled, “What Counts as Language Education Policy? Developing a Materialist Anti-Racist Approach to Language Activism” (Language Policy, Volume 17).

Individuals interested in reading the Alatis Prize-winning article may do so by clicking here. The article can be read online or downloaded for free until February 10, 2019. Many thanks to our colleagues at Springer and Language Policy for making the article available in this way.

[Check out the article here]

Dr. Sofía Chaparro Selected as 2019 TIRF Alatis Prize Recipient