Curriculum Committee Minutes – Nov. 6 2017

Curriculum Committee Agenda

November 6, 2017



  • Jarrod Hanson
  • Dennis DeBay
  • Lisa Forbes
  • Cristina Gillanders
  • Scott McLeod – not in attendance
  • Lori Elliott



  • Shakira Anderson
  • Hilary Bruce




The curriculum committee is working with Dean Seidl to update faculty appointments guidelines, for undergraduate courses to meet HLC accreditation standards.




Status                         Item(s)                                                                       Presenter

Approved                      ECED 5320 Course Revisions                                     Lori Ryan

  • Effective Spring 2018, changing the course title of ECED 5320 to Community-Based Action Research: Capstone.
  • Revising the credits hours to 3.0, and changing the course structure to run from Jan – July.


Approved                      MTED 3040 Math for Elementary Teachers       Dennis DeBay

  • Effective Fall 2018, MTED 3040: Mathematics for Elementary Teachers, will replace MATH 3040.
  • MATH 3040 is a required course for SEHD undergraduate students; however the course prefix MATH, is a CLAS prefix.
  • This course was created and staffed by the SEHD faculty. With the upcoming budget model, the course needs to be housed under the SEHD.